by Naomi Joseph

Wow…what a whirlwind two weeks.

It has been a privilege to dedicate two weeks to my creative practice.

When I initially considered applying, I was hesitant. There were personal risks involved (I work freelance, so had to do some rearranging and low key panicking). I had to weigh up whether a seemingly structure-free way of working would be beneficial to my practice and career development.

To be in a room full of creatives who are generous with their time and energy, as well as their professional skills as artists, has made the experience incredibly rewarding.

I have learned from my peers, I have engaged with expert practitioners and obtained useful resources that will help me not only make art but also sustain my career.

I have found new allies and friends, new potential collaborators and new shows in the making! I have reengaged with devising, from the live writing and improvisation to the contact improv I was always so reluctant to do but actually isn’t too bad!

I have ‘failed with joy’. I have lip synced to Cher. I have transformed a bin bag into a puppet. I have made ‘the world’s worst play’. I have seen types of live performances that I would otherwise have not taken myself to. I have had interesting conversations on the way home.

I will miss going into a room full of creatives every day, knowing that I will be both playing and learning, having focused conversations and bursts of silliness.

This experience has made me even more determined to find play in everything I do. It has made me realise the value of soundboards: just talking through an idea with someone, regardless of how fully formed the idea actually is, can be nerve-wracking but it is also so inspiring and exciting. Enthusiasm and creativity is infectious, and I’m probably a lot further on in the shape of some of my ideas then I would be if I hadn’t participated and if I hadn’t shared with my fellow theatre makers.

Now the Intensive is finished I feel like I have caught a glimpse into the future of theatre. Don’t worry, world: you’re in safe hands.


IMAGE: Leah Kirby leads a Peer Practice Exchange session with the 2018 core ensemble. Photo by Laura Lundy.

Previous Post

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com